Pester script to Test DNS Configuration

So I recently blogged about Configuring DNS zones and resource records. While going through my twitter feed, I stumbled upon this little gem by Kevin Marquette. He recently did a session on Pester and uploaded his demo. If you’re interested in Pester (as you should) you should definitely check it out!

So one of the demos was a eureka moment for me: The Active.Directory.System.DC.tests.ps1!

Wait you can do that? I thought Pester was about unit Framework testing not about validating script output. So I can test if my script did what I expected it to do? (Pause to let that sink in). Well alrighty then!!! 😛

So I decided to give it a go for the DNS Configuration.

And here’s a screenshot of the results:

Pester-DNS

So there’s more to Pester that meets the eye… Imagine the possibilities… No wonder Microsoft is shipping Pester with 2016…

Hope it’s worth something to you

Ttyl,

Urv

2 thoughts on “Pester script to Test DNS Configuration

  1. Pingback: Pester as an Operation Validation Framework | Programming, PowerShell and Pants

  2. Pingback: Continuously Testing your Infrastructure with OVF and Microsoft Operations Management Suite | PowerShell, Programming and DevOps

Leave a Reply

